Cantaloupe, Cucumber, and Basil Smoothie

I love going on vacation.  I’m not a fan of coming back from vacation, though.  I always try to extend the vacation as long as possible, so I inevitably land at the airport around midnight, get to bed around 1 am, and then have to roll into work early the next morning.  On top of my poor choices in timing, there’s always chores I have to make up for the weekend I lost.  Unpacking.  Laundry.  Weeding the garden.  Vacuuming, which is absolutely imperative when you have two cats. Grocery shopping, because you have no food in the house.

photo 4 (3)

This past weekend (my first post-vacation weekend), I was in the midst of my long to-do list, preparing to attack my overgrown garden.  As I stepped out into the early summer heat, I got a craving for something cold and refreshing.  No, not a beer.  A smoothie.  I opened my fridge to see what ingredients I had, and there she was: a beautiful cantaloupe freshly purchased from the market.  Paired with the cool flavor of cucumber and a bright note of basil, I had the perfect mid-afternoon treat while I toiled away in my garden!

Family White Water Rafting Trip in the Grand Canyon

On a separate note, I already have some tomatoes and jalapenos growing…I’m going to try to think of something besides salsa to do with these.

photo 1 (3)      photo 3 (2)

Cantaloupe, Cucumber, and Basil Smoothie

(Paleo, Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten-Free)

  • 1/3 cantaloupe, chopped into chunks
  • 1 cup cucumber, chopped into chunks
  • 3-4 sprigs of fresh basil
  • Sweetener, such as sugar, honey, agave, stevia (optional, note 1)
  • Ice (optional, note 2)
  • Coconut Water/Water (optional, note 3)

Using either a regular blender or an emersion blender (I used the emersion blender), combine all ingredients and blend until smooth.

Tip: When shopping for cantaloupe, conduct the “smell test” in order to get a sweet, ready-to-eat melon.  Melons that are ripe will smell sweet, and will probably make your mouth start to water a little.  Melons that aren’t ripe won’t have much of a smell.  If none of the fruit “smell”, go ahead and buy one.  Just put it in a sunny spot, it’ll start “smelling” in a day or two.  This applies to most other melon types, such as honeydews.

photo 4 (2)

Note 1: If your cantaloupe isn’t quite ripe, you may want to add a sweetener.  Make sure to taste the smoothie first – the amount of sweetener you add will depend on your taste.  If the smoothie is not quite to your liking, use small amounts of sweetener at a time until the smoothie matches your preference.

photo 5 (2)

Note 2:  I pulled all my ingredients straight from the fridge, so everything was cold enough for me.  If your ingredients aren’t cold, or you prefer a frigid smoothie, you can either add ice prior to blending, or pour the mixture over ice.

photo 2 (3)

Note 3: Some people like thicker smoothies.  Some people like thinner smoothies.  Blend all the ingredients as directed, and if you want to thin out your drink, gradually add either regular water or coconut water until you achieve your desired consistency.

5 thoughts on “Cantaloupe, Cucumber, and Basil Smoothie

    • Thanks! I had taken a pic inside, but when I put the smoothie down outside so I could put on my gloves, it just looked too perfect not to take a photo.

  1. I just returned from a short TDY and checked my garden…and what did I find?..my first cucumber of the season, and a bursting basil plant. Inspired by your post, I tried a smoothie with what I had, and used the basil, and it was delicious!
    My ingredients: 1 carrot, 1 cucumber, 1 fuji apple, 1 banana (very ripe), and a handful of basil! Super yum! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

