Jalapeno Poppers

I made a mistake the other night.  Actually, I made several.

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

The first mistake was to pick two jalapeños from my garden.  It sounds innocent, but that was the start of a downward spiral.  They were too small; if you saw them at the market, you would never select them.  I was too excited for my first “harvest” of the summer season (my tomatoes are growing more slowly than normal, I am quite certain of a conspiracy!)

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

My second mistake was an overly-excited search of “jalapeño poppers” on Pintrest.  The conclusion I formed was that I had neither cream cheese nor cheddar/monterey jack, so I could not proceed with my heart’s desire of spicy poppers fresh from my garden.

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

I forlornly looked through my fridge, trying to figure out how to turn beets or eggs into an amazing jalapeño recipe.  (Yet another mistake…one that I did not act on).

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

I then took inventory of my cheeses.  Parmesan.  Gruyere.  Feta.  Goat cheese.  Hmmmmmm.  I might be able to salvage my vision after all, I thought!

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

So, long story short, my last mistake of the night was only making two jalapeños worth of poppers rather than ten, or fifteen, or fifty.  They are not traditional by any scope, but they are salty and creamy with a firm consistency.  I’ve made this recipe multiple times since that fated night (with store bought jalapeños…yes, treasonous, but necessary).  They are perfect for a BBQ or an appetizer.  Or just because you want to read a good book (Clash of the Kings, GoT perhaps??).

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

Jalapeno Poppers

(Vegetarian, Gluten Free)

  • 2/3 cup feta
  • 2/3 cup goat cheese
  • 4 tsp ground cumin
  • 8 jalapenos, halved lengthwise, de-seeded

1.  Turn on the oven to 350° F.

2.  Combine feta, goat cheese, and cumin until well blended.

3.  Using your fingers, fill the jalapenos.  The amount of mixture needed for each jalapeno will vary depending on the size of the pepper and how “stuffed” you desire them to be.  This recipe was designed for very large jalapenos, so you should have more than enough stuffing for the whole batch.

4.  Place the poppers on a lined baking sheet.  (Lined make easy clean up.)

5.  Bake poppers.  For spicy poppers, bake for 20 minutes.  For mild poppers, bake for 30 minutes.  If you’re crazy, skip this step and eat immediately.

6.  Once cooked to desired level of spiciness, remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  Poppers can be served warm or at room temperature.

7.  Can be made 2-3 days in advance.  Just warm them up in the oven for 5-6 minutes, or in the microwave for 1 minute.

 Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

Warning: No matter how tempting, do NOT lick your fingers after Step 3.  Despite how much of the delicious stuffing will go down the drain when you wash your hands, STAY STRONG.  Otherwise you might end up jumping around the kitchen screaming “holy great balls of fire” in a voice similar to Ron Burgundy.  True story.

Jalapeno Poppers | Salt and Honey

2 thoughts on “Jalapeno Poppers

  1. Here’s the recipe I use. My mistake was not wearing gloves when I prepped them. And then I removed my contacts. OUCH! (Lesson learned: the only way to get pepper oil off your hands is to wash them several times with warm water and liquid dish soap…regular hand soap won’t cut thru the oils!) Anyway, here’s the recipe…..wrap those bad boys in bacon (or add bacon crumbles to the filling) for something extra special! http://katiekateskitchen.blogspot.com/2012/10/jalapeno-poppers.html

Leave a Reply

