Lacy Eggs over Tomatoes

 Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

The tomato plants in my garden have been teasing me this year.  They have about a hundred green tomatoes that are REFUSING to fully ripen.  Ok, that may be a slight exaggeration, but not by much!  For several weeks, I’ve been holding out on buying a variety of heirlooms at the farmers market, firmly believing that I would have a windfall very, very soon.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

 Now I’m moving to a new apartment that does not have space for me to continue cultivating my green thumb.  The hundreds of tomatoes I have are being “donated” to a friend, and I am extremely jealous that she and her family will be enjoying MY tomatoes for the rest of the summer.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

I did break down last weekend and bought a couple of pounds of tomatoes.  They might not have been grown in my garden, but they were certainly exquisite.  I felt like Forrest Gump with the variety of dishes I made in one week, all centering around one key ingredient: fresh tomato sauce over pasta, tomato and cucumber salad, tomato and avocado sandwich, sliced tomatoes with salt, tomatoes in my scrambled eggs, tomato slices with salt, tomato and watermelon salsa, plain ol’ salsa.  I still have a couple other tricks up my sleeve.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

One of my favorite tomato dishes, though, is actually a breakfast dish I like to call “Lacy Eggs over Tomatoes”.  You cook one egg at a time in a medium-to-large sauce pan, swirling the egg around as it sets to create an elongated pattern with the whites.  The whites will eventually caramelize, turning into a crispy brown lace pattern that is not only elegant to look at, but fun to eat as well.  Place this beautiful egg on top of a slice of tomato, allowing it ever so slightly warm the tomato.  Voila, a sophisticated (but very easy)  breakfast.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey  Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

The swirling technique takes a little bit to perfect, but it is well worth the practice!  Please feel free to leave your tips or lessons learned in the comments!  I’d love the feedback.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

Lacy Eggs over Tomatoes

(Gluten free)

  • Your favorite heirloom tomato, sliced to desired thickness (I like mine about an eighth- to a quarter-of-an-inch.)
  • Eggs
  • Cooking oil/butter for egg (whatever your preference is; I like butter or coconut oil)
  • Parmesan cheese, grated
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Plate tomatoes.  If the tomatoes are large, you will only need one slice per egg, but if the tomatoes are smaller, you may want to consider layering a couple of slices.  Eventually, you will be putting the egg (which will cover a lot of surface area) over the slices.

2.  Sprinkle salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese over tomato.

3.  Turn stove to medium-low heat.  Heat cooking oil/butter in a medium or large sauce pan.

**The next step will happen very quickly, so don’t move forward until you are ready.  You will need both hands, and possibly kitchen mitts.

4.  Crack one egg into sauce pan.  Immediately swirl the egg around until the whites have been spread out over part of the sauce pan.  The edge of the egg will look a little thinker than you would expect at first, but will thin out and crisp up as it cooks.

5.  Cook for about 2-3 minutes, then flip and cook on other side for approximately 1-2 minutes.

     Tip:  Use a sharp edged spatula to flip and transfer the egg.  Otherwise, you won’t be able to get under the delicate edges without tearing the egg.

6.  Transfer egg to tomato slices.  Allow to warm up the tomato for approximately 3-4 minutes before serving.

     Tip:  If cooking for multiple people, I would recommend using two or three sauce pans.  It makes for a fun juggling act, but you can not put more than one egg per pan.

Lacy Tomatoes | Salt and Honey

Leave a Reply

