August’s Monthly Musings

Happy day-after Labor Day!!  I hope everyone thoroughly enjoyed their three day weekend.  I know I did!

 August Musings  August Musings

August was a BIG month for me.  As if lots of work travel (New Jersey, California, Virginia), bridesmaid duties (we FINALLY have a wedding dress), and auntie/nanny duties weren’t enough, I decided to throw in an apartment upgrade to the mix.  With the help of my mother and some very compassionate friends, I am all moved into my new place.  I now have granite countertops, a dishwasher, and a fireplace!

I can’t wait to get everything unpacked so I can do my first photo shoot for the blog.  Since that may take a while (have I ever mentioned I’m a procrastination queen), I was able to save up a couple of posts to keep my loyal readers entertained.

 August Musings  August Musings

In the meantime, I am going to tryout an idea I’ve had for a while.  My goal for this blog is to not only share recipes, but also to share foodie knowledge.  The world of food encompasses more than the act of cooking; it is a microcosm of its own.  It has politics, culture, and science.  It has personality.  It shifts and changes on almost a daily basis, and the internet is flooded with food-related articles that are fascinating to read.  Or at least I think they’re fascinating…

Anywho…I would like to share with you my favorite “musings” each month.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

August Musings

  • Due to all the travel I’ve done recently, I perked right up when I saw this article about a foodie’s minimalist travel kit.  I always bring at least an immersion blender on work trips so I can make a healthy smoothie in the morning.
  • Since summer isn’t quite over, and because I love nerdy explanations of why things work the way they do, I loved reading this grilling guide, which explains things why cooking with 212° F air is different (and better) than cooking with 212° F water.
  • If you get stuck searching for wine at the last minute, and your only option is to pop into a random store, these strategies will help you avoid buying a bottle that gets poured down the drain.
  • Most movies include meal scenes of one variety or another.  A couple of chefs dissect the practicality of a few of these clips, to include Goodfellas and The Breakfast Club (clips included…just in case you’re bored at work).
  • Have you ever nicknamed certain types of booze?  This article has taken those nicknames, and created cute labels for your favorite bottles of liqueur.
  • MUST READ MUSING:  Kids say the darnedest things, especially when they are a four-year-old reviewing the food at a top rated restaurant.

August Musings

Have you read any interesting articles this month?  I’d love to check them out!  Just drop a link in the comments.

One thought on “August’s Monthly Musings

  1. Loved this! 🙂 Fun to be inside your head for a week!
    Have you seen all of the PBS cooking and food shows? We recently figured out access to PBS through the Apple TV, even though we are still over here, and I could not believe the variety of informative and helpful shows and spots that they have. There is even an urban farmer (my soft spot) short from Colorado Public Broadcasting that has been really fascinating! Thanks for the food…for my brain!

Leave a Reply

